Press Track Events Points Media Partners Rules Forum
.: June 29, 2019 Results :.


Turpen scores second 2019 win in USCS Summer Shootout Round #1 at North Alabama Speedway on Sunday

Tuscumbia, AL - JUNE 30, 2019 - Two-time USCS National Champion, Morgan Turpen from Cordova, TN made her second trip of the 2019 season to the www.Rock USCS Victory Lane as the winner of the  USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters USCS Summer Shootout Round #1 mini-series 25-lap main event on Sunday afternoon at North Alabama Speedway.

Turpen, who was the high points earner after the qualifying heats, took advantage of her K&N Filters Pole Position starting spot to lead every lap of the 25-lap contest. She also had to hold off 2013 USCS National Champ and 2019 USCS Speedweek Champion, Derek Hagar from Marion, AR (who started third) after a lap 20 caution bunched the field behind her for a final five-lap dash to the checkers. Hagar chased her across the finish line in the runner-up spot.

Byhalia, Mississippi"s Dale Howard followed Hagar in the K&N Podium Award third place. 11-time series National Champion and current National points leader, Terry Gray from Bartlett, TN finished in fourth place and Kyle Amerson from Matthew's, AL  complete the top five.

Past series Champion, Marshall Skinner from Marion, AR led the next group in sixth place. Sprint Car Hall of Famer, Danny Smith from Chillicothe, OH followed Skinner in seventh place. 
The 2017 USCS Rookie of the Year, Brandon Taylor from Cumming, GA was eighth followed by  Nesbit, Mississippi's Ronny Howard in ninth place. USCS Southern Thunder regional series current points leader, Johnny Bridges from Cherryville, NC rounded out the top ten. Bridges also is in the second position in the 2019 National title chase standings.

DeWayne White from Byhalia, MS  won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat. Marshall Skinner was first under the checkers in the Brown and Miller Second Heat. 

Morgan Turpen kicked off the afternoon's USCS racing action by winning the USCS Hoosier Tire Speed Dash. The 2012 USCS Rookie of the Year, Jeff Willingham from Ripley, MS advanced the most positions in the main event to  garner the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award.

The next USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters event is the USCS Summer Shootout Round #2 at Riverside International Speedway in West Memphis, Arkansas this coming Wednesday night at 7:30pm. That event also features the All-Star Racing Series Late Models, the M.S.C.A Winged Sprint Cars plus the Riverside Stock Cars and Fireworks.

USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour winged sprint cars presented by K&N Filters at North Alabama Speedway on Sunday, June 30th results:

Hoosier Tire Speed DASH -  (6 Laps)
1. 10m-Morgan Turpen[4] ; 2. 9jr-Derek Hagar[1] ; 3. 26-Marshall Skinner[6] ; 4. 10-Terry  Gray[5] ; 5. 47-Dale Howard[2] ; 6. 4-Danny Smith[3] 

Engler Machine and Tool Heat 1 -  (8 Laps)
1. 10k-Dewayne White[2] ; 2. 10-Terry  Gray[3] ; 3. 29-Kyle Amerson[4] ; 4. 4-Danny Smith[6] ; 5. 07 T-Brandon Taylor[7] ; 6. 38-Tony Agin[1] ; 7. 13-Chase Howard[5] ; 8. 10k2-Jamie Manley[8]

Brown and Miller Racing Solutions Heat 2 (8 Laps)
1. 26-Marshall Skinner[1] ; 2. 10m-Morgan Turpen[5] ; 3. 9jr-Derek Hagar[6] ; 4. 47-Dale Howard[8] ; 5. 07-Johnny Bridges[4] ; 6. 44-Ronny Howard[3] ; 7. 17b-Shelby Brown[2] ; 8. 28-Jeff Willingham[7]

FIREAde A-Main -  (25 Laps)
1. 10m-Morgan Turpen[1] ; 2. 9jr-Derek Hagar[3] ; 3. 47-Dale Howard[5] ; 4. 10-Terry  Gray[6] ; 5. 29-Kyle Amerson[7] ; 6. 26-Marshall Skinner[4] ; 7. 4-Danny Smith[8] ; 8. 07 T-Brandon Taylor[9] ; 9. 44-Ronny Howard[11] ; 10. 07-Johnny Bridges[10] ; 11. 28-Jeff Willingham[16] ; 12. 13-Chase Howard[13] ; 13. 38-Tony Agin[12] ; 14. 17b-Shelby Brown[15] ; 15. 10k-Dewayne White[2] ; 16. 10k2-Jamie Manley[14]

1)Isaac Gipson 2)Sterling Hogeland 3)Chris Hodge 4)Dustin Jones 5)Emily O'Kelley 6)Zack Etheredge 7)Cory Parsons

Factory Stock
1)Bryan Story 2)Jeff Phillips 3)Levi Aldridge 4)Cody Howard 5)Bryan Phillips 6)Jeremy Stone 7)Corey Gann 8)J.J. Michael 9)Alex McDowell 10)Charles Coan 11)Stevie Johnson 12)Steven Isbell 13)Andy Melson 14)Tate Cannon 15)Dusty Richardson 16)Nathan Page 17)David Letson

Mini Stock
1)Andy McDowell 2)Mickey Crowden 3)Brett Grimes 4)Dusty Quillen 5)Tyler Britnell 6)Damion Garrison 7)James Miller 8)Jay Cooper 9)Jonathan Caldwell 10)Matt Peffer 11)Chad Gentry

Durrence Layne Late Model Sportsman
1)Bryson Mitchell 2)Donovan Henry 3)Tony Chaney 4)Austin Steele 5)Blake Ray 6)Cruz Wallace 7)Gary Jones 8)Colby Franks 9)Brian Murray 10)Chance Landers 11)Buddy George

Durrence Layne 604 Late Models
1)Christian Hanger 2)Seth McCormack 3)Jaydon Frame 4)Matthew Brocato 5)Greg Wilhite

Durrence Layne Mod Sportsman
1)John Smartt 2)Oakley Gillespie 3)Tracy Terrell 4)Casey Ledlow 5)Luke Riddle 6)David Nichols 7)Darren Jewell 8)Brian Ferguson